Volume 54, Number 7

fourteen pages

Byrdstown, Tennessee 38549 -- Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Pickett County elects new officials


Pickett County residents have voted and elected new Pickett County Officials. According to the Pickett County Administrator of Elections Tim Clark, 2,539 people voted in the General Election. The number was down from the 2006 election with a number of 2,828 with 4,327 registered to vote in Pickett County.
The new positions which have changed, and will be taking office September 1st, are sheriff, county executive, register of deeds, city mayor and several county commission seats.
In the county executive race, Johnie Neal beat Stephen Bilbrey with the votes totaling 1,261 to 1,193.
Due to the fact Sheriff Clois Brown didn't seek re-election, Pickett County voters choose Dana Dowdy for sheriff.
The Register of Deeds position, which had been vacated by the passing of Phyllis Ford, had been held by her son, Jeff who was elected to fill the rest of the term. The new Register of Deeds will be Letha McCurdy, who had worked along with both Phyllis and Jeff for several years.
Mayor of Byrdstown Bill Robbins didn't seek re-election and Chris Thompson was voted in as the new mayor.
Incumbents County Trustee Jennifer Anderson, Circuit Court Clerk Larry Brown, County Clerk Robert E. "Charlie" Lee, Road Superintendent Jimmy Cope, School Board Member District 3 Terrell Garner, School Board Member Dist. 4 John Reagan, County Commissioner 3rd District Colan Huddleston, County Commissioner 4th District Eddie Holt, County Commissioner 4th District Kenny Tompkins, City Alderman Opal Clayborn, City Alderman Glenn "Pig" Parris, City Recorder Johnny Sells were re-elected to their positions.
The new county commissioners are 1st District Tony Beaty, 1st District Terry Manis, 1st District Lowell H. Winningham, 2nd District Doug Manis, 2nd District Lana Baker Rossi, 2nd District Becky Matheny, 3rd District Joe D Harden Jr., 3rd District Daniel Masiongale, and 4th District Darrell L. Garrett.
The new City Alderman is John "Johnny" Bilbrey.


Pickett Board of Education approves 2017-18 school calendar at meeting - The Pickett County Board of Education met Monday, February 13, 2017 at 6 p.m. at the office of the d... Keep Reading

4-H Poster Contest Winners - ... Keep Reading

Showing support for Congenital Heart Defects - In honor of Congenital Heart Defect Awareness, students and staff at the Pickett County K-8 wore red... Keep Reading