Volume 53, Number 17

Ten Pages

Byrdstown, Tennessee 38549 -- Thursday, April 28, 2016

Junior High Cheerleaders win first runner-up

Junior High Cheerleaders win first runner-upOn March 17th, the Pickett County Jr. High Cheerleaders started the long trip to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina to defend their 2010 Cheer Ltd. National Championship Title. There were over 20 different states represented at the three-day competition.
The 2010-2011 Pickett County Jr. High squad is the largest that Pickett County has ever had with 27 members. The squad competed on Saturday and Sunday with the scores being added together to determine the winners.
After a near perfect routine on both days, Pickett County brought home the first runner-up honors. The difference between first and second place was less than one point. The squad represented Pickett County to the best of their ability.
Pickett County also had two groups of cheerleaders that competed on Friday in the Junior Stunt Group Competition. One group was made up of Savannah Hunley, Bethany Young, Elaina Garner, Savannah Tompkins, and Katie Winningham. This group earned the second runner-up honors.
The other group was made up of Shelby Barber, Rebecca Reagan, Kendra West, Morgan Hill, and Sydne Denney. This group won the Jr. Stunt Group National Championship Title.
The cheerleaders would like to say “THANK YOU” to their “crazy” parents for their support during the competition. Many of the kids said they were nervous backstage until they heard the crowd chanting “Pickett County”. The Pickett County parents and supporters were named one of four finalists in the CANAM CRAZIES and Sportsmanship Award. This is an award that is given to the fans that show the most support and good sportsmanship toward the other competitors and fans for the weekend. Even though the Pickett County fans didn’t win, it was great to be recognized as a finalist out of all the squads fans.
The Cheerleaders would like to also say “THANK YOU” to all the people who supported them and helped make this trip possible. A special “THANK YOU” goes out to Lakeside Builders, Reggie Mfg., Patti Zachary, Delano Copeland, John Zachary, Drue Jolly, Debbie Elder, B&K Bi-Rite, Bloomington First Christian Church, WANY Radio Station, Mr. Tompkins, and Ms. Wallen. The squad is coached by Juli Denney and Sherry Rich.

Front row at left: Rhyan Williford, Tori Zachary, Mackenzie Manis, Elizabeth Tompkins, LeeEllen Beaty, Macy Bandy, and Selena Cane.
Middle row: Savannah Hunley, Annie Keith, Savannah Tompkins, Tori Sells, Elaina Garner, Summer Wilber, Danielle Cross, and Tanarae Houston-Groce.
Back row: Jeff Harden, Gloria Storie, Sydne Denney, Kendra West, Katie Winningham, Rebecca Reagan, Kayla Garrett, Victoria Colon, Bethany Young, Morgan Hill, and Sarra Leffew.


Fire destroys Greenbrier home - The Pickett County Volunteer Fire Department responded to an early morning fire at 6635 Greenbrier R... Keep Reading

Pickett Board of Education April 25th meeting - The Pickett County Board of Education met Monday, April 25, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. at the office of the d... Keep Reading

Dale Hollow Spring Bass Classic Tournament held - The Dale Hollow Spring Bass Classic two-man buddy tournament hosted by Sunset Marina was held April ... Keep Reading